top of page
  • Writer's pictureourmountainlife

SOUR KIWI CANDIES

Sheeesh!! I can't believe it's taken me so long to share this magic recipe. Here is the easy peasy way to turn fruit into homemade S O U R candies . . . .




Adam has always loved candy. Any store we went to, even the mechanic shop (???), Adam would sniff out the candy and buy multiple bags of sour, chewy sweets.


When we moved to the mountains, 40 minutes away from any store, we needed to find another way for Adam to satisfy that sweet & sour tooth of his.


That's when I started to look into dehydrated candies. We've had dehydrated bananas, apples & other tasty treats but nothing that was a true replacement for sour, sweet candies.


I started to play around with different fruits in the dehydrator and quickly realized that citric acid (the natural element in many citrus fruits that gives them a sour taste) on sweet fruits was the perfect match!!


This works for a range of fruit but let's start with kiwi, shall we?!




I started by washing and peeling the kiwis




Next up, you guessed it, start cutting down your kiwi into whatever size you'd like.

I've tested different sizes / cuts and found these little bite sized pieces dehydrate well.


I cut my kiwis into slices then into bite sized pieces like this - -






Now that your kiwis are chopped and ready, line your dehydrator trays with

parchment paper, load your kiwi bites and grab your citric acid.




Now S P R I N K L E that citric acid over your cut kiwi!



That's it folks.

Pop your trays in the dehydrator for 10 hours at 135F

and try to keep the drool in your mouth.




Wheeew!! You just made your own homemade, hand cut, sour candies!!

I hope you're looking as happy as Adam!!!








27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page